collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 39
  • Dot Hidden: 1
  • Dot Users: 4
  • Dot Users Online:

* Calendar

June 2018
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 [23]
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Author Topic: Monster High by Aaron Bordner - The Original Monster High?  (Read 2486 times)

Offline rco55

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Two Left Hands
    • View Profile
Monster High by Aaron Bordner - The Original Monster High?
« on: February 18, 2018, 07:50:55 AM »
Hey Guys!

I wanted to bring to you something that might be news for many of you, and for the more sensitive, the idea of this happening could affect the way you see the franchise. So I suggest you thread lightly when reading this topic.

I want to assure you that I love MH, but as an artist myself, I have to stick to the artists, not the big companies and what they could have done.

As the title implies, there was a Monster High before Monster High. Not only that. But there was a Frankie, a Clawdeen, A Cleo, a Lagoona, and many other monster girls who studied in a school called Monster High before Mattel's Monster High.

Back in the late 90's - early 00īs the artist Aaron Bordner created a comic about Monster Girls attending to a High School made for them. The idea came to him after drawing some pin-up pieces made for tattoos of a girl Frankenstein. The comic was published under SIRIUS, a known publisher for all things goth and underground back then, and received some attention and got a cult following, but for various reasons it never got to be as big as it should have been.

The main characters of this story were Frankie Stein, daughter of Frankenstein, Lupey, daughter of the Werewolf, Cleo, daughter of the Mummy, among others.

Enter a couple years later, and in 2007 - 2009 Mattel develops Monster High, a doll line about Monster Girls attending to a High School made for them.