collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

* Calendar

September 2017
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Author Topic: New to Monster High Arena  (Read 411 times)

Offline WasabiMoon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Recently Deceased
    • View Profile
New to Monster High Arena
« on: March 02, 2017, 01:48:11 PM »
Hello, my name is Tracy and I am new to the Monster High Arena! :)

I am 39 years old and live in the U.S. within the sunny state of California.

I studied Art History and Anthropology. I work as a  independent contractor in the arts and crafts industry, often doing product design and development, tutorials, production samples and trade show demonstrations. I work from home as I am also a caretaker for my elderly mother.

I have been collecting dolls since I was very young, from modern, vintage and in some rare cases ancient dolls. Dolls, figures and sculptures have always held my interest. A weird fun fact I was one of the youngest children to do toy testing for Mattel, in the 1980s, when their headquarters was located in Hawthorne, California. I often complained to the testing staff Barbie needed dinosaur companions, she should have "real" cars and that blonde hair was boring. I gather I wasn't the most helpful of test children. :P 

As for the important people in my life, my mother, who got me into doll collecting and art long ago, my husband and my friends who tolerate my eccentric pastimes.

I started with Barbie and then I fell in love with My Little Pony, the first release in the 1980s (Butterscotch was my first pony!). From then on it was Jem and the Holograms, Disney dolls (first Mattel releases), Sylvanian Family, Japanese imports dolls such as Jenny and Sailor Moon and so many more. I burned myself out of collecting and sold a portion of them.